Buddha Buddha Buddha

So recently one of my friends dragged me on another adventure…adventure being another tattoo shop (what a shock!), not really but it is what it is. She wanted to bring someone who has had multiple experiences with getting tattoos and whether or not this life long investment…was actually worth it in the end.

She identifies with as a Buddhist and for that I have the upmost respect for her and her beliefs and rather than discuss the tattoo and how it was done, I want to talk about a life long commitment with tattoos.

Below are some pictures of the process for those who are interested…

I know every generation begins with the stereotypical, “you know you are going to have that for life right?” Yes obviously we know, but it was when my good friend asked me whether or not this was all worth it is when I started to question her decision, and rather mine as well.

Tattoos have become such a part of me and my life that I could not really imagine myself without them scattered all over me. But then again I began to think whether or not branding myself with designs and colors and blacks and whites was all for the best interest and if it had a good impact on my life.

I always worry about my future job opportunities and how companies and organizations will be turned off to hire someone who has ink on their arms, stretched earlobes, and a nose piercing. See the piercings I can change, the tattoos…well not so much.

Then I started to assess the meanings of some of my pieces and why I got what I have across me and for the most part I love all my tattoos….key words “most part”. Yes I have some on impulse that I will admit I regret but tattoos have been a part of my journey of life and what I have been through.

Do I have any real significant regrets? No. Like I said this ink that is on my body is here for a reason and tells a story of a time in my life that I can never re-live, but be reminded of every time I look down on either my arm or leg or behind my ear or any part of me at this point. The most significant words I said to many people was, “If you love who you are, the journey you have led, and think that this will benefit you personally in the long run…then do what you think is best for you.”

Leave a Reply

